top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRadiate Magazine

Musician Spotlight: Flowerovlove

By: Arielle Delacruz


About the Musician


Fifteen year old Flowerovlove aka Joyce Cisse is a self taught singer-songwriter from south east London, who is now releasing her second single ‘unseen miracles', which pays homage to artists like Jakob Ogawa, Cuco, and Dayglow.


Joyce’s Ivorian parents experienced a civil war and fled to London for a better life, being in the 1st generation of black-British gen z makes her view on life very ambitious, always motivated from living in the city and seeing people consistently working. She’s lived a very nomadic lifestyle and unseen miracles is a reflection of that lack of security.


Unseen Miracles is OUT NOW!


Q+A


What inspired you to start making music? 

What inspired me was actually hearing music and thinking I want to have something so special of my own and now I do, making music is so fun especially with people.

How would you describe the music that you typically create?

I make alternative, indie, bedroom pop, pop, very mellow and chill music. My music you can listen to whilst hanging out with your friends, whilst on a journey, while watching the sunset, it fits with just about everything.

How has living in south east London influenced your sound if at all?

Living in south east London has impacted my sound because I get inspired for lyrics by my environment and living in such a cultured city definitely has me very open minded which is good to put into my music.

Who would you most like to collaborate with, if you could work with anyone?

I’d definitely collaborate with Blondie if I could and Jakob Ogawa. I like their vibes and the music we’d make would be very iconic.

Are you still in school? If so, how do you manage being a student and making music? 

Yes I am still in school. I manage to balance both because If you really want to do something you will make time for it. Music is one of my priorities so I make time for it, I work on it on the weekends and after school.

How is it being in the music business at such a young age? 

I am an independent artist so I wouldn’t say I’m really in the music ‘business’ I’m in my own world and just having fun for now. Isaac Levine produced Kiss & Chase and also produced my unreleased second single, I record with my brother in our garage and he mixes too.


How has quarantine affected you and your music making? 

Quarantine actually has given me so much more time to take music seriously and record, I’ve gotten so much more comfortable with recording and hearing my voice back.

On a more personal note, if you don't mind me asking, how has being a first generation Black-British gen zer affected you personally, and how does it influence your music? 

Yeah sure of course I don’t mind, well my parents and 2 older brothers were born in Ivory Coast and me and my sister were born here in London, being black-british gen z has affected me but in an amazing way I’m so grateful to live here, everyday I wake up thankful and gracious. I’d say it impacts my music because I see the positive side of life, like negativity I don’t know her, so I can sing about the beautiful things in life which is absolutely everything to me, I see the beauty in everything.


13. Do you have any upcoming songs or projects? 

Yes!! I’m releasing a second single called ‘Unseen miracles’ on September 4th!! Followed by the music video on September 6th!!


14. What advice would you give to someone wanting to start a music career? 

I’d say dude go for it and have fun!! Do not worry about whether your music is ‘good enough’ because you don’t need validation from anyone just do your thing and make sure you’re vibing. Also learn to take in constructive criticism so you can grow and proliferate. I love making music while I’m growing and evolving it is such a gorgeous thing because I have something I can go back to and see where my mind was at then vs now. 

Thank you Arielle for having me, have a great day!



Music!

Kiss & Chase


Unseen Miracles


Kiss & Chase and Unseen Miracles available to stream on ALL platforms!!


Social Media: @flowerovlove everywhere!

290 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page